What Countries Signed The Munich Agreement

The American historian William L. Shirer estimated in his „Rise and Fall of the Third Reich“ (1960) that Czechoslovakia, although Hitler was not bluffing about its intention to invade, could have resisted considerably. Shirer believed that Britain and France had sufficient air defence to avoid severe bombing of London and Paris, and could have waged a swift and fruitful war against Germany. [66] He quotes Churchill as saying that the agreement means that „Britain and France are in a much worse position than Hitler`s Germany.“ [61] After personally inspecting the Czech fortifications, Hitler privately told Joseph Goebbels that „we shed a lot of blood“ and that it was fortunate that there had been no fighting. [67] Under the Munich Agreement, the entire territory, mainly German, was to be ceded to Czechoslovakia by 10 October. Poland and Hungary occupied other parts of the country and, after a few months, Czechoslovakia ceased to exist and what was left of Slovakia became a German puppet state. During the Second World War, British Prime Minister Churchill, who opposed the agreement when it was signed, decided not to abide by the terms of the post-war agreement and to bring the Sudetenland back to post-war Czechoslovakia. On 5 August 1942, Foreign Minister Anthony Eden sent Jan Masaryk: 29-30 September 1938: Germany, Italy, Great Britain and France signed the Munich Agreement by which Czechoslovakia had to cede its border and defensive regions (the so-called Sudetenland) to Nazi Germany. German troops occupied these territories between 1 and 10 October 1938. Sequence of events of the Munich Convention: 1.

Germany occupies the Sudetenland (October 1938). 2. Poland annexed Zaolzie, a territory of Polish plurality on which the two countries had waged war in 1919 (October 1938). 3. Hungary occupies border areas (in the southern third of Slovakia and in the south of the Carpathian Islands) with Hungarian minorities, in accordance with the First Prize of the Viennese (November 1938). 4. On 15 March 1939, during the German invasion of the other Czech territories, Hungary annexed the Ruthenian of the Carpathians (autonomous since October 1938). 5. Creation of the protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia with a puppet government, on 16 March 1939.

6. During the German invasion of Czech territories, a pro-Hitler-Catholic-fascist government divided the other territories of Czechoslovakia and declared the Slovak Republic a clientelistic state of the axis. The Czechoslovakians wanted to fight and mobilized the army. A quarter of a million disgruntled Czechs gathered in front of the Rudolfinum in Prague, where senior communist official Klement Gottwald spoke to them. France also began mobilizing its troops in the event, which looked like an imminent war.